Josephine Ackerman (Deputy Global Head Art, Culture & Sports, Deutsche Bank)


Photo: Mario Andreya
Josephine Ackerman started her career at a family-owned company before working at a strategy consulting firm for a number of DAX corporations throughout Germany. In 2012 she joined Deutsche Bank, where she accompanied various projects. In 2015 she won an award as Germany’s best project manager under the age of 35. Ackerman is regarded as an intrapreneur and management talent, she was engaged with innovation projects at the communications unit and worked for the bank’s global chairpersons on the strategic orientation of the Corporate Social Responsibility Agenda. In 2016 she became Deputy Global Head and Chief Operating Officer of the Art, Culture & Sports division that is responsible for the bank’s global commitment in these areas. Privately, Josephine Ackerman creates art in her studio in Frankfurt and is dedicated to the development of children in the women’s organization YOUNG WIZO.

 

Wolf Bauer (Co-CEO UFA GmbH)

Wolf Bauer studied journalism and art history and then worked as an author for the ZDF series “Kennzeichen D”. He joined UFA in 1980 and in 1991 became chairman of the board. Following the merger of UFA and Pearson TV in 2000 to form FremantleMedia, he was promoted to the board of the internationally active production company. Under his leadership UFA developed into a powerful production group and market leader in Germany. Wolf Bauer has produced over 80 TV-movies and overseen the launch of more than 20 TV series. As a producer for UFA Cinema he was also responsible for numerous feature films, such as “The Physician”. During his time as managing director, UFA also produced many excellent successes such as the historical TV-event movies “March Of Millions” and “Dresden”, and the miniseries “Generation War” (International Emmy Award 2014) and a great many TV-movies such as “Naked Among Wolves.” Wolf Bauer has also been on the board of trustees of the Bertelsmann Foundation since 2008.

 

Maike Mia Höhne (Director and Curator)

Maike Mia Höhne was born in Hanover in 1971. Between 1994-1999 she studied visual communication at the Hochschule für Bildende Künste in Hamburg, the Escuela de Bellas Artes in Havanna as well as the Escuela International de Cine y Television in San Antonio de los Baños, Cuba. After working in Buenos Aires, Argentina, she completed her post-graduate studies at the Hochschule für Bildende Künste in Hamburg with a focus on film. Since 2001, she has worked in as a freelance writer, curator, producer, photographer and director in various contexts. Her films are distributed by arsenal experimental and Kurzfilmagentur. She has also been active for many years as a lecturer and moderator at film events. Maike Mia Höhne lives in Hamburg and Berlin. She has curated Berlinale Shorts since the summer of 2007.

 

Basim Magdy (Artist / Deutsche Bank „Artist of the Year“ 2016)


Photo: Deirdre O'Leary
© Basim Magdy
Basim Magdy was born in 1977 in Assiut, Egypt, and now lives in Basel and Cairo. He has created a multifaceted oeuvre in recent years encompassing film, photography, slide projections, installations, and works on paper. At the center of all of his works are structures of seeing, remembering, and archiving. Basim Magdy has participated in numerous international group exhibitions, including the Sharjah and Istanbul Biennials in 2013 and La Biennale de Montreal and MEDIACITY Seoul Biennial in 2014. After Wangechi Mutu, Yto Barrada, Roman Ondák, Imran Qureshi, Victor Man, and Koki Tanaka Basim Magdy was 2016 Deutsche Bank's seventh ‟Artist of the Year“. After its presentation at the Deutsche Bank KunstHalle in Berlin, his solo exhibition “The Stars Were Aligned for A Century of New Beginnings” was on view at the MAXXI (Rome), the Museum of Contemporary Art (Chicago), and the Arnolfini (Bristol).

 


Franziska Weisz (Actress)


Photo: Markus Nass
Franziska Weisz, born in Vienna in 1980, played in Ulrich Seidl’s “Hundstage” (1999) before completing her studies in developmental and environmental policy at King’s College in London. During her studies, she took on various small roles and subsequently entered the acting profession fulltime with a role in Jessica Hausner’s “Hotel.” The film premiered at Cannes in 2004 and won the European Shooting Star award at the Berlinale 2005. Other performances in films featured at the Berlinale followed, including “Distance” (the opening film of Perspektive Deutsches Kino 2009, directed by Thomas Sieben), “Das Vaterspiel” (Panorama 2009, directed by Michael Glawogger), “Der Räuber” (2010 competition, directed by Benjamin Heisenberg and Nikolaus Geyrhalter), “Renn, wenn du kannst” (the opening film of Perspektive Deutsches Kino 2010, directed by Dietrich Brüggemann), and most recently “Kreuzweg” (directed by Dietrich Brüggemann), which had its world premiere as an official competition entry in 2014 and was awarded the Silver Bear. Other motion pictures with Weisz include “Hannas schlafende Hunde” (2015, directed by Andreas Gruber) and “Treffen sich Zwei” (2015, directed by Ulrike von Ribbeck). For TV, Weisz’ roles in the series “Der letzte Bulle” (2012/2013, directed by Sophie Allet-Coche), in the detective series “Janus” (2012/2013, directed by Andreas Kopriva), and in “Landkrimi: Kreuz des Südens” (2014, directed by Barbara Eder) are particularly noteworthy. In addition, she played in the 2015 television film “Irenes Bruder – Ein Geheimnis im Dorf” (directed by Peter Keglevic), “Die vierte Gewalt” (directed by Brigitte Bertele), which had excellent ratings, as well as the American series “Homeland” (directed by Seith Mann). Furthermore, since 2015 she has been a new “Tatort” investigator alongside Wotan Wilke Möhring (“Zorn Gottes,” directed by Özgür Yildirim/ 2016, and “Böser Boden,” directed by Sabine Bernardi). Her cinema projects in 2016/2017 include “Die Anfängerin” (AT), directed by Alexandra Sell, “Komplett von der Rolle” (directed by Sabine Derflinger), and “Arthur & Claire” (directed by Miguel Alexandre). Among the most recent television productions with Weisze are “Willkommen in der Patchwork-Hölle” (directed by Oliver Schmitz) and “Ich will (k)ein Kind von dir” (directed by Ingo Rasper). She is standing in front of the camera for “Tatort: Dunkle Zeit” (directed by Niki Stein) in Hamburg until mid-June 2017.

Josephine Ackerman (Deputy Global Head Art, Culture & Sports, Deutsche Bank)


Foto: Mario Andreya
Josephine Ackerman begann ihre Karriere im familieneigenen Unternehmen, bevor sie im Anschluss in einer Strategieberatung deutschlandweit für verschiedene DAX-Konzerne tätig war. 2012 trat sie in die Deutsche Bank ein, in der sie unterschiedliche Projekte begleitete. 2015 gewann sie die Auszeichnung als beste Projektmanagerin Deutschlands in der Alterskategorie unter 35 Jahren. Ackerman gilt als Intrapreneur und Management-Talent, arbeitete an Innovationsprojekten der Kommunikationsabteilung und für die globalen Vorstände der Bank an der strategischen Ausrichtung der Corporate Social Responsibility Agenda. 2016 wurde sie die stellvertretende Leiterin und Chief Operating Officer des Bereichs Art, Culture & Sports, der die globalen Engagements der Bank in diesen Themenfeldern verantwortet. Privat ist Josephine Ackerman selbst künstlerisch in ihrem Atelier in Frankfurt aktiv und engagiert sich für die Entwicklung von Kindern bei der Frauenorganisation YOUNG WIZO.

 

Wolf Bauer (Co-CEO UFA GmbH)

Wolf Bauer arbeitete nach seinem Studium der Publizistik und Kunstgeschichte zunächst als Autor für die ZDF-Sendung Kennzeichen D. 1980 kam er zur UFA und übernahm 1991 den Vorsitz der Geschäftsführung. Nach der Verschmelzung von UFA und PEARSON TV im Jahr 2000 zu FremantleMedia wurde er zudem in den Vorstand des weltweit tätigen Produktionsunternehmens berufen. Unter seiner Führung entwickelte sich die UFA zu einer leistungsstarken Produktionsgruppe und zum Marktführer in Deutschland. Wolf Bauer hat über 80 TV-Movies produziert und ist für den Start von mehr als 20 TV-Serien produzentisch verantwortlich. Für die UFA Cinema war er außerdem als Produzent von zahlreichen Kinofilmen wie „Der Medicus“ verantwortlich. Während seiner Zeit als Geschäftsführer gelangen der UFA zahlreiche herausragende Erfolge wie die historischen TV-Events „Die Flucht“ und „Dresden“ sowie die Miniserie „Unsere Mütter, unsere Väter“ (International Emmy Award 2014) und zahlreiche Fernsehfilme wie „Nackt unter Wölfen“ oder „Der Minister“. Seit 2008 gehört Wolf Bauer dem Kuratorium der Bertelsmann Stiftung an.

 

Maike Mia Höhne (Filmemacherin und Kuratorin)

Maike Mia Höhne wurde 1971 in Hannover geboren. Von 1994–1999 hat sie Visuelle Kommunikation an der Hochschule für Bildende Künste in Hamburg, an der Escuela de Bellas Artes in Havanna sowie der Escuela International de Cine y Television in San Antonio de los Baños, Kuba, studiert. Nach einem Arbeitsaufenthalt in Buenos Aires, Argentinien, absolvierte sie ein Aufbaustudium an der Hochschule für Bildende Künste in Hamburg mit dem Schwerpunkt Film. Seit 2001 arbeitet sie in unterschiedlichen Kontexten als freie Autorin, Kuratorin, Produzentin, Fotografin und Regisseurin. Ihre Filme werden von arsenal experimental und der Kurzfilmagentur vertrieben. Darüber hinaus ist sie seit Jahren als Dozentin und Moderatorin von Filmveranstaltungen aktiv. Maike Mia Höhne lebt in Hamburg und Berlin. Seit Sommer 2007 ist sie Kuratorin der Berlinale Shorts.

 

Basim Magdy (Künstler / Deutsche Bank „Künstler des Jahres“ 2016)


Foto: Deirdre O'Leary
© Basim Magdy
Basim Magdy wurde 1977 in Assiut, Ägypten, geboren und lebt heute in Basel und Kairo. Er hat in den letzten Jahren ein vielfältiges Werk geschaffen, das Film, Video, Diaprojektionen, Installationen und Arbeiten auf Papier umfasst. Im Mittelpunkt stehen immer Strukturen des Sehens, Erinnerns und Archivierens. Basim Magdy war an zahlreichen internationalen Gruppenausstellungen beteiligt, wie 2013 auf den Biennalen in Sharjah und Istanbul sowie 2014 auf der Biennale von Montreal und der MEDIACITY Seoul Biennial. Magdy war 2016 nach Wangechi Mutu, Yto Barrada, Roman Ondák, Imran Qureshi, Victor Man und Koki Tanaka der siebte internationale Künstler, den die Deutsche Bank als „Künstler des Jahres“ ehrte und in einer großen Einzelausstellung in der Deutsche Bank KunstHalle in Berlin präsentierte. Seine Ausstellung „The Stars Were Aligned for A Century of New Beginnings“ wurde anschließend im MAXXI (Rom), dem Museum of Contemporary Art (Chicago) und dem Arnolfini (Bristol) gezeigt.

 

Franziska Weisz (Schauspielerin)


Foto: Markus Nass
Franziska Weisz, 1980 in Wien geboren, spielte in Ulrich Seidls „Hundstage“ (1999) bevor sie ihr Studium der Entwicklungs- und Umweltpolitik am King’s College in London abschloss. Während des Studiums nahm sie verschiedene kleine Rollen an, um danach mit Jessica Hausners „Hotel“ ganz in den Schauspielerberuf einzusteigen. Der Film feierte 2004 Premiere in Cannes und brachte Weisz bei der darauf folgenden Berlinale 2005 die Auszeichnung „European Shooting Star“ ein. Es folgten weitere Berlinale-Auftritte mit „Distanz“ (Eröffnungsfilm Perspektive Deutsches Kino 2009, Regie: Thomas Sieben), „Das Vaterspiel“ (Panorama 2009, Regie: Michael Glawogger), „Der Räuber“ (Wettbewerb 2010, Regie: Benjamin Heisenberg, Nikolaus Geyrhalter), „Renn, wenn du kannst“ (Eröffnungsfilm Perspektive Deutsches Kino 2010, Regie: Dietrich Brüggemann) und zuletzt „Kreuzweg“ (Regie: Dietrich Brüggemann), der als offizieller Wettbewerbsbeitrag 2014 bei der Berlinale Welturaufführung feierte und mit dem Silbernen Bären ausgezeichnet wurde. Weitere Kinofilme mit Weisz sind u.a. „Hannas schlafende Hunde“ (2015, Regie: Andreas Gruber) und „Treffen sich Zwei“ (2015, Regie: Ulrike von Ribbeck). Im TV-Bereich sind insbesondere Weisz’ Rollen in der Serie „Der letzte Bulle“ (2012/2013, Regie: Sophie Allet-Coche), in der Krimi-Reihe „Janus“ (2012/2013, Regie: Andreas Kopriva) und im „Landkrimi: Kreuz des Südens“ (2014, Regie: Barbara Eder) zu nennen. Darüber hinaus spielte sie 2015 beispielsweise in den Fernsehfilmen „Irenes Bruder – Ein Geheimnis im Dorf“ (Regie: Peter Keglevic) und in dem Quoten-Erfolg „Die vierte Gewalt“ (Regie: Brigitte Bertele) sowie in der amerikanischen Serie „Homeland“ (Regie: Seith Mann). Zudem ist sie seit 2015 die neue „Tatort“-Ermittlerin an der Seite von Wotan Wilke Möhring („Zorn Gottes“, Regie: Özgür Yildirim/ 2016, „Böser Boden“, Regie: Sabine Bernardi). Kino-Projekte von 2016/2017 sind „Die Anfängerin“ (AT), bei der Alexandra Sell Regie führte, „Komplett von der Rolle“ (Regie: Sabine Derflinger) und „Arthur & Claire“ (Regie: Miguel Alexandre). Zu den jüngsten Fernsehproduktionen mit Weisz zählen u.a. „Willkommen in der Patchwork-Hölle“ (Regie: Oliver Schmitz) und „Ich will (k)ein Kind von dir (Regie: Ingo Rasper). Bis Mitte Juni 2017 steht sie für „Tatort: Dunkle Zeit“ (Regie: Niki Stein) in Hamburg vor der Kamera.